Spinach Soup

Published on by Souper Woman

Spinach Soup

I hope you are enjoying your spring days as much as I do. I just had a couple of days off and spent my days with family and friends and lovely food. On that note, I think it is time for another all-time spring favourite: Spinach! I think spinach has always been my favourite vegetable. It's mild and fresh in flavour, and can be used in almost every dish varying from a salad to an oven dish. There's always a new recipe that involves spinach and for some reason I always like them. To be honest I have never had a soup with spinach before and I am purely experimenting when making this recipe. But I don't think it's been in vain: You just can't go wrong with spinach! Furthermore it's got plenty of health benefits such as being extremely rich in anti oxidants an iron.

Spinach Soup
Ingredients for 5 servings
  • 300 grams of spinach
  • 1 liter chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 potato
  • 1 red onion
  • bunch of spring onions
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • a generous spoon of cream cheese
  • some extra cream cheese for garnish
  • nutmeg (according to taste)
  • salt and pepper
  1. Dice the onion and garlic and chop the spring onion
  2. Heat up the olive oil in a pan and gently saute the vegetables until tender
  3. Add the stock and heat up to a boiling point
  4. Peel the potato and add to the boiling stock
  5. Turn down the flame and let the stock boil until the potato is tender enough to mash
  6. Blend the stock using a hand blender
  7. Wash the spinach and add handful by handful, blend continuously
  8. Season with the salt, pepper and nutmeg
  9. Add the cream cheese and blend again
  10. Put the soup back on the flame and cook for a few more minutes
  11. Serve the soup in bowls and garnish with a small spoon of extra cream if wanted, and perhaps a spinach leaf for decoration
  12. Enjoy your soup!

Tip: if you think using fresh spinach is too time consuming, frozen spinach could also be used. However, I used fresh spinach because it tastes better

Comment on this post